Tools

ROSE@Smart Validator

A framework to differentiate erroneous ROAs from prefix hijacks. It enables network operators to avoid blocking legitimate traffic and keep preventing prefix hijacking attacks. More details here: https://rose.smart-validator.net/ 


Dependency Detective

The Dependency Detective visualises the requests of any website. It is especially designed to check a website for third party dependencies. Privacy is a privilege. Third party dependencies can be used to track the behaviour of users. With the Dependency Detective you can check websites of your choice by your own. Additionally, there are statistics about the usage of third party dependencies over all so far crawled websites available. Dependency Detective has crawled initially the homepages of the top 100.000 websites of the Majestic Million list to ensure meaningful statistics. More details here: https://dependency-detective.cad.sit.fraunhofer.de/ 


DNS X-Ray

DNS X-Ray – is a new tool for measuring DNS resolution platforms. Our tool identifies the different components in DNS resolution platforms, in particular, the IP addresses used for lookup of records in nameservers and the caches. We infer the number of caches used as well as the DNS software of the caches. Our tool utilises the caching behavior and the standard DNS protocol behavior for collection of the data and its analysis. More details here.


DNSSEC Dashboard

DNSSEC Dashboard – monitors DNSSEC deployment and typical misconfigurations among Top Level Domains and popular domains. More details here.


Am I Censored

A framework aiming to help users check if their ISP are censoring / blocking some webpages, along with some interesting statistics and great visualzations. More details here: https://amicensored.com/ 


SSL-Checker

This checks if a website is vulnerable to known SSL attacks.
More details here.


Transputation

Transputation is a Transport Framework for Secure Computation. The tool makes it possible for developers to perform real life evaluations and receive immediate results without the need to install or use any traffic monitoring tools. Transputation can be accessed here.
The source code implementation of Transputation is available here.  


NTP Security

Demonstrates how an off-path attacker can shift time on a victim system which uses time synchronisation using NTP by attacking the NTP clients DNS lookups. This includes a practical attack demonstration against various NTP implementations and even a theoretical attack scenario against an security-improved NTP client. More details here.


SMap

Based on a work in which we present novel methods to test if a network enables ingress filtering, that is to say, if it is vulnerable to IP spoofing attacks. Statistics as well domain troubleshooting are available online. (This work is still under submission.)


Randomness

Pseudorandom Generators (PRGs) play an important role in security of systems and cryptographic mechanisms. Yet, there is a long history of vulnerabilities in practical PRGs. Significant efforts in the theoretical and practical research communities are invested to improve the security of PRGs, to identify faults in entropy sources, and to detect vulnerabilities allowing attacks against the PRGs. In this work we take an alternative approach at the pseudo-randomness generation problem. We design and implement Network Pseudo-randomness Collector (NPC) which collects pseudorandom strings from servers in the Internet. NPC does not require cooperation nor synchronisation of those servers. NPC is easy to use and integrate into the existing systems. We analyse the security of NPC and show how it addresses the main factors behind the vulnerabilities in current PRGs. More details here.


In-The-Wild DNS Vulnerability Dashboard

In this study, we test in-the-wild vulnerability of DNS resolvers in the internet against a newly discovered type of Cache Poisoning attacks which rely on misinterpretation of special characters \000 and \. which, despite popular belief of many developers, are actually allowed inside DNS labels per RFC6895. We provide selective statistics over various properties of the Resolvers we tested, like Autonomous System (AS), Country, Implementation and whether the resolver is detected as a forwarder or recursive resolver. More details here.


ParaSite

We identify and explore a new type of malicious script attacks: the persistent parasite attack. Persistent parasites are stealthy scripts, which persist for a long time in the browser’s cache. We show how to use the parasites to build a botnet that runs entirely in the browser and controlled by a remote attacker. Our attack does not require the victim to install software on the victim’s host. We implement a prototypical attacker that injects parasites into victim clients’ caches via TCP injection (when the attacker is connected to the same WiFi network as the victim) as well remotely by redirecting traffic to its hosts via DNS cache poisoning. Once the cache is infected, the parasites propagate to other popular websites on the victim client. We show how to design the parasites so that they stay long time in the victim’s cache under the attacker’s control, not restricted to the duration of the user’s visit to the web site. We then demonstrate how to leverage the parasites to perform sophisticated attacks against a range of applications. We devise covert channels for communication between the attacker and the parasites, which allows the attacker to control which scripts are executed and when, and to exfiltrate private information to the attacker, such as cookies and passwords. Finally we provide recommendations for countermeasures. More details here.


Evaluwaf

This is a research application for the automatic and periodic security evaluation of web application firewalls (WAFs).

EvaluWAF can test the capabilities of WAFs to protect web applications

1. one-time to enable users to make qualified comparisons between different WAFs

2. periodically to make sure that WAFs continuously protect their web applications, also after system changes and updates.

It tests single or combined WAF configurations, perform predefined or own attacks against a vulnerable web server and analyzes if the WAF(s) prevented the attacks. It also generates reports with the relevant data, including raw requests and performance information. It supports also long-time random evaluations which permute evasive attack patterns to detect subtile attack holes. Additionally, it supports different combination modes to research the security of combined (different) WAFs.

This project is currently under active development by the Fraunhofer Institute for Secure Information Technology and not publicly available yet. If you are interested or have further questions, please contact EvaluWAF. More details here.


Combiwaf

CombiWAF is a research application for the robust combination of web application firewalls (WAFs) . The main idea is that every WAF has weaknesses in different fields and by combining them, we can increase the security of the protected web server. The system consists of two parts:

  • The distributor receives incoming HTTP(S) requests from external clients and forwards them to multiple WAFs in parallel. The first response from a WAF is then returned to the external client.
  • The combiner receives requests from the WAFs which they cleared to reach the protected web server. Depending on the configuration, the combiner decides whether a cleared request should be forwarded to the web server. If yes, then it forwards it, takes the web server’s response and send it back through one WAF.

The reference implementation is written in Go and runs on Linux/Unix and macOS systems. More details here.

Tools

ROSE@Smart Validator

A framework to differentiate erroneous ROAs from prefix hijacks. It enables network operators to avoid blocking legitimate traffic and keep preventing prefix hijacking attacks. More here: https://rose.smart-validator.net/ 


Dependency Detective

The Dependency Detective visualises the requests of any website. It is especially designed to check a website for third party dependencies. Privacy is a privilege. Third party dependencies can be used to track the behaviour of users. With the Dependency Detective you can check websites of your choice by your own. Additionally, there are statistics about the usage of third party dependencies over all so far crawled websites available. Dependency Detective has crawled initially the homepages of the top 100.000 websites of the Majestic Million list to ensure meaningful statistics. More here: https://dependency-detective.cad.sit.fraunhofer.de/ 


DNS X-Ray

DNS X-Ray ist ein neues Tool zur Messung von DNS-Auflösungsplattformen. Unser Tool identifiziert die verschiedenen Komponenten in DNS-Auflösungsplattformen, insbesondere die IP-Adressen, die für das Nachschlagen von Datensätzen in Nameservern und den Caches verwendet werden. Wir leiten daraus die Anzahl der verwendeten Caches sowie die DNS-Software der Caches ab. Unser Tool nutzt das Caching-Verhalten und das Standardverhalten des DNS-Protokolls zur Erfassung der Daten und deren Analyse. Mehr Details hier.


DNSSEC Dashboard

DNSSEC Dashboard überwacht den DNSSEC-Einsatz und typische Fehlkonfigurationen bei Top-Level-Domains und beliebten Domains. Mehr Details hier.


Am I Censored

A framework aiming to help users check if their ISP are censoring / blocking some webpages, along with some interesting statistics and great visualzations. More here: https://amicensored.com/ 


SSL-Checker

Dies prüft, ob eine Website anfällig für bekannte SSL-Angriffe ist. Mehr Details hier.


Transputation

Transputation ist ein Transport-Framework für sichere Berechnungen. Das Tool ermöglicht es Entwicklern, reale Auswertungen durchzuführen und sofortige Ergebnisse zu erhalten, ohne dass sie irgendwelche Tools zur Trafficüberwachung installieren oder verwenden müssen. Die Transputation kann hier aufgerufen werden.
Die Quellcode-Implementierung der Transputation ist hier verfügbar.


NTP Security

Demonstriert, wie ein Angreifer aus dem Off die Zeit auf einem angegriffenen System, das die Zeitsynchronisation mittels NTP verwendet, verschieben kann, indem er die DNS-Lookups des NTP-Clients angreift. Dazu gehört eine praktische Angriffsdemonstration gegen verschiedene NTP-Implementierungen und sogar ein theoretisches Angriffsszenario gegen einen sicherheitsoptimierten NTP-Client. Mehr Details hier.


SMap

Basierend auf einer Arbeit, in der wir neuartige Methoden vorstellen, um zu testen, ob ein Netzwerk Eindringungsfilterung ermöglicht, d. h. ob es anfällig für IP-Spoofing-Angriffe ist. Statistiken und Domain-Problemlösungen sind online verfügbar. (Diese Arbeit ist noch nicht abgeschlossen.)


Randomness

Pseudozufallsgeneratoren (PRGs) spielen eine wichtige Rolle bei der Sicherheit von Systemen und kryptographischen Mechanismen. Dennoch gibt es eine lange Geschichte von Schwachstellen in praktischen PRGs. In der theoretischen und praktischen Forschung werden erhebliche Anstrengungen unternommen, um die Sicherheit von PRGs zu verbessern, Fehler in Entropiequellen zu identifizieren und Schwachstellen zu erkennen, die Angriffe auf die PRGs ermöglichen. In dieser Arbeit wird ein alternativer Ansatz für das Problem der Pseudo-Zufallsgenerierung gewählt. Wir entwerfen und implementieren den Network Pseudo-Randomness Collector (NPC), der pseudozufällige Zeichenfolgen von Servern im Internet sammelt. NPC erfordert weder eine Zusam­men­arbeit noch eine Synchronisation dieser Server. NPC ist einfach zu bedienen und in die bestehenden Systeme zu integrieren. Wir analysieren die NPC-Sicherheit und zeigen, wie es die Hauptfaktoren für die Schwachstellen in aktuellen PRGs angeht. Mehr Details hier.


In-The-Wild DNS Vulnerability Dashboard

In dieser Studie testen wir in der Praxis die Verwundbarkeit von DNS-Resolvern im Internet gegen eine neu entdeckte Art von Cache-Poisoning-Angriffen, die auf der Fehlinterpretation der Sonderzeichen \000 und \. beruhen, die entgegen der landläufigen Meinung vieler Entwickler tatsächlich innerhalb von DNS-Bezeichnungen gemäß RFC6895 erlaubt sind. Wir liefern selektive Statistiken über verschiedene Eigenschaften der von uns getesteten Resolver, wie Autonomes System (AS), Land, ob der Resolver als Forwarder oder rekursiver Resolver erkannt wird. Mehr Details hier.


ParaSite

Wir identifizieren und erforschen eine neue Art von bösartigen Skript-Angriffen: den persistenten Parasiten-Angriff. Persistente Parasiten sind getarnte Skripte, die für eine lange Zeit im Cache des Browsers verbleiben. Wir zeigen, wie man die Parasiten nutzt, um ein Botnetz aufzubauen, das komplett im Browser läuft und von einem entfernten Angreifer gesteuert wird. Für unseren Angriff muss das Opfer keine Software auf seinem Rechner installieren. Wir implementieren einen prototypischen Angreifer, der Parasiten über TCP in die Caches der Opfer-Clients einschleust (wenn der Angreifer mit demselben WLAN-Netzwerk verbunden ist wie das Opfer) sowie aus der Ferne, indem er den Datenverkehr per DNS-Cache-Poisoning auf seine Hosts umleitet. Sobald der Cache infiziert ist, verbreiten sich die Parasiten auf andere beliebte Websites auf dem Opfer-Client. Wir zeigen, wie man die Parasiten so gestaltet, dass sie unter der Kontrolle des Angreifers lange Zeit im Cache des Opfers bleiben und nicht auf die Dauer des Besuchs des Benutzers auf der Website beschränkt sind. Im Anschluss demonstrieren wir, wie man die Parasiten nutzen kann, um ausgeklügelte Angriffe gegen eine Reihe von Anwendungen durchzuführen. Wir entwickeln verdeckte Kanäle für die Kommunikation zwischen dem Angreifer und den Parasiten, die es dem Angreifer ermöglichen, zu kontrollieren, welche Skripte wann ausgeführt werden, und private Informationen wie Cookies und Kennwörter an den Angreifer zu exfiltrieren. Abschließend geben wir Empfehlungen für Gegenmaßnahmen. Mehr Details hier .


Evaluwaf

Dies ist eine Forschungsanwendung für die automatische und periodische Sicherheitsbewertung von Web Application Firewalls (WAFs).

EvaluWAF kann die Fähigkeiten von WAFs zum Schutz von Webanwendungen testen

1. einmalig, damit Anwender qualifizierte Vergleiche zwischen verschiedenen WAFs durchführen können

2. in regelmäßigen Abständen dafür zu sorgen, dass WAFs ihre Webanwendungen kontinuierlich schützen, auch nach Systemänderungen und Updates.

Es testet einzelne oder kombinierte WAF-Konfigurationen, führt vordefinierte oder eigene Angriffe gegen einen verwundbaren Webserver durch und analysiert, ob die WAF(s) die Angriffe verhindert haben. Außerdem generiert es Berichte mit den relevanten Daten, einschließlich Rohanforderungen und Leistungsinformationen. Es unterstützt auch zufallsabhängige Langzeitauswertungen, die ausweichende Angriffsmuster permutieren, um subtile Angriffslücken zu erkennen. Zusätzlich unterstützt es verschiedene Kombinationsmodi, um die Sicherheit von kombinierten (verschiedenen) WAFs zu untersuchen.

Dieses Projekt wird derzeit aktiv vom Fraunhofer-Institut für Sichere Informations­technologie entwickelt und ist noch nicht öffentlich verfügbar. Wenn Sie Interesse oder weitere Fragen haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an EvaluWAF. Mehr Details hier.


Combiwaf

CombiWAF ist eine Forschungsanwendung für die robuste Kombinierung von Web Application Firewalls (WAFs). Die Hauptidee ist, dass jede WAF Schwachstellen in verschiedenen Bereichen hat und wir durch die Kombination dieser Schwächen die Sicherheit des geschützten Webservers erhöhen können. Das System besteht aus zwei Teilen:

  • Der Verteiler empfängt eingehende HTTP(S)-Anfragen von externen Clients und leitet sie parallel an mehrere WAFs weiter. Die erste Antwort von einer WAF wird dann an den externen Client zurückgesendet.
  • Der Combiner empfängt Anfragen von den WAFs, die sie freigegeben haben, um den geschützten Webserver zu erreichen. Abhängig von der Konfiguration entscheidet der Combiner, ob eine freigegebene Anfrage an den Webserver weitergeleitet werden soll. Wenn ja, leitet er sie weiter, nimmt die Antwort des Webservers entgegen und schickt sie durch eine WAF zurück.

Die Referenzimplementierung ist in Go geschrieben und läuft auf Linux/Unix- und macOS-Systemen. Mehr Details hier.